A Night at the Symphony

Hello!……(it’s me)

Just joking around, hi friends!!

It’s been awhile but I’ve done some exciting things this past weekend that I can finally write posts about!! So on the 7th of this month, it was college night for the New Jersey Symphony Orchestra at the State Theatre in New Brunswick, NJ! Thanks to my honors program at Rutgers, I was able to get free tickets as well as free VIP entry to an after party filled with performances by local a cappella groups! Granted the tickets were only $10, but free is free, which is great in my opinion!

Saturday night at 8 PM I had the pleasure of seeing Beethoven’s 9th Symphony featuring conductor Jacques Lacombe and the NJSO as well as the Westminster Symphonic Choir! In addition to an amazing orchestra and choir, soloists Barbara Shirvis (soprano), Elizabeth Bishop (mezzo-soprano), Jonathan Boyd (tenor), and Stephen Powell (baritone) were featured in the fourth movement. Amazing music all around from everyone! There was one specific Soprano who looked incredibly happy and excited to be there so shout out to you, whoever you are, for an entertaining performance! I guess facial expression really is a nice extra when it comes to choral performance!

This was actually my first ever attendance to a full symphony and I definitely don’t regret it. I expected to go through the first three movements hoping and waiting for the choral singing to come in but surprisingly I wasn’t distracted at all! I loved all three beginning movements including the prelude played before the work (Jennifer Higdon’s blue cathedral). Stephen Powell was definitely one of the best baritone’s I have ever heard live and I even got to sing happy birthday to him at the after party, haha!

Not to mention I got to watch my favorite university a cappella group, Casual Harmony, perform! Casual Harmony is our only award-winning all-male a cappella group featuring no music majors (but they’re amazing regardless! best group hands down). My friend is their music director and he arranges 98% of their music and he’s great so check their videos out on YouTube! I’ll link their channel at the bottom of this post.

AND I ALSO GOT TO SEE ONE OF MY BEST FRIENDS FROM HIGH SCHOOL?!?! It’s weird to say that because we were just in high school months ago but it feels so long ago at the same time. He goes to TCNJ (Joe, if you read my other post back from the first day of September) and I had no intention of seeing him that night but he too was at the after party! Great time overall yay!

photo 1 photo 2

Casual Harmony YouTube Page

Hannah Aberin
10 November 2015

Leave a Reply

