Book Opinion | If I Stay

[Note: There are a few spoilers in this (probably like, 2) just in case no one wants to see any of those.]

If I StayHi friends!

I finished If I Stay by Gayle Forman on July 23 2015 a little before 7 PM. It was a pretty quick read–a little less eventful than I thought it would be, but gripping enough that I couldn’t put it down for too long.

This book is strange–I would be reading through it just fine and dandy but I’d pass through 15 pages and feel like I had not gone anywhere. All at once, it feels like a lot is happening but also that nothing is happening. It’s strange. Maybe that’s the whole point of this book, “If I Stay” so it’s just telling you about whether she stayed throughout the whole ordeal…? [SPOILER ALERT: she did]. If I Stay is a nice book though. It’s kind of slow but it’s fast-paced at the same time. Forman knows how to balance the present-day on-goings at the ICU with the background-inducing memories which is pretty admirable since that can be a difficult thing to do.

I’m not sure if I would have preferred for the crash to be so early, it felt very, “Ah yes, nice family, nice to meet y—did that just happen…right now??” If that makes any sense, because I’m very aware that I don’t usually. I wish I could have learned to love the family before the crash rather than grow to love them and be really sad knowing that they’re gone and that there won’t be anymore to learn about them. Mia always talked about missing her family but I couldn’t sympathize as well because I couldn’t miss them as much as I could have.

I of course loved all the talk about music and especially the talk about classical music, it was different but a good different. I loved Gramps too! I wish that I could have learned more about Kim, you learned a lot about Adam along the way. This book would have benefited from explaining everyone else more, I think.

I gave it a 4 out of 5 stars on GoodReads if that’s an indication. It’s definitely no Unwind or Fangirl where I’m itching to figure out what comes next, but it holds my attention enough to want to keep reading and know. I’m surprised that I’ve been keeping up with the more than weekly posts, I just randomly decided to try that haha. That’s all I have for now though so I’ll see you guys in the next post!

Hannah
August 12 2015

One thought on “Book Opinion | If I Stay

Leave a Reply

