Lifesavers | Haircare

Hi again!

Last week I wrote about lifesavers for my skin, and this time I’m going to talk about my hair! I’m writing this on July 18 so I’m not sure how these products will be working for my short hair but my long hair has definitely loved them deeply!

It can be difficult to take care of long hair seeing as there is so much of it, and when you have thick hair like me, not just anything works for your hair. Due to the nature of my hair, I could wash it every 3 days (sometimes even 4 if necessary!) and even though that doesn’t sound right, that was just the nature of my hair! My hair didn’t get super oily super fast, it was thick and there was lots of it and it could last a long time. But of course this wasn’t always the nature of it, for the most part it was, but it had it’s off-days. So to keep it in check I used these products to keep it together for as long as possible!

Lifesaver Haircare

1. Dove Refresh+Care Volume Dry Shampoo
After countless review searching, I have only tried two dry shampoos and honestly, this is my favorite. It works exceedingly well and doesn’t leave any of those dreaded white flakes or whatever in my hair. It adds lift and keeps my hair from looking oily at the roots. There isn’t much to say about this product other than the fact that works amazing and I have been using it for the past year. If you’re wondering what the second one I tried was, it was the Batiste cherry one. It smells really good but it didn’t work as well with my hair, probably because my hair is so thick.

2. Garnier Fructis Sleek & Shine Anti-Humidity Smoothing Milk
These names are really long dear god. When my hair was long, I often had trouble with it’s frizziness and poofy-ness so I would use this to make it sleeker and flatter. A lot of times it definitely worked wonders! Sometimes my hair would be fine without it but obviously the weather is a big factor in these types of situations also. My hair routine is very specific in the fact that it has to be done at a certain time. I wash my hair at night (usually between 5-7 and maybe 8 if I know I can stay up until at most midnight) and leave it to air dry for as long as possible. Then, I just go to sleep to flatten it out because after I wash my hair it dries slightly poofy which I hate with a deep passion. So I resort to washing it at night and sleeping on it. Never sleep on it when it’s damp though! Wet pillow and your hair might dry with weird grooves in it. I put this in my hair almost after every time I shower (sometimes I forget shhhh) but only when it’s very slightly damp and almost close to being dry. However, you can also put it in your hair when it’s dry because I put so much of it in the day I went to go meet Pentatonix because it was incredibly hot and humid that day! It worked to a point but the humidity was unbearable, so maybe I need something stronger for those situations but it works extremely well for everything else!

Wow, I’ve talked a lot about these two products, oops. They work really well for me personally though which is why I’m so willing to talk a lot about them! If you guys have any recommendations, please leave them below in the comments! 🙂

Hannah
July 29 2015

Leave a Reply

