Book Opinion | Paper Towns

Paper TownsThis book has me messed up.

How dare you John Green.

How dare you.

Hi readers, how are you?

I have spent my entire day (July 16 2015) reading this book and I am not okay. Paper Towns had me feeling so many things, too many things. How dare John Green.

I’m going to be honest, I bought this book a little while after I read The Fault In Our Stars when it was popular (2 or 3 years ago?) and it was really slow for me at first. I could not for the life of me get into it, and I tried my hand at it again about a year ago and got about 30 pages farther but definitely couldn’t finish the book. So I thought maybe it just wasn’t as good a book and didn’t really try to read it again for awhile, but in my midst of needing another book to read I tried to read it again. It was a little slow just as I remembered but I stuck it out and then I couldn’t stop. Truthfully, this book does have its slow moments but it does have its suspenseful moments too.

Margo Roth Spiegelman. I was so disappointed in her at the end. I, like Q, wanted her to be more. I expected so many great things of her, I feared for her just as Quentin did at a point, and I just wanted her back in the story to know what happened to her. And then she was back. And I was disappointed, and a little hurt, but mostly disappointed. But maybe that’s the point of her character? To be a paper girl? That sometimes people in life are just not more? Like Me and Earl and the Dying Girl, but still better because the entire book didn’t require more, just Margo. I don’t know, maybe that’s just the beauty of her character.

QUENTIN JACOBSEN. I’m going to be real honest with you and somehow that does not seem like that is what his surname should be. Quentin is cool. Quentin Jacobsen sounds not right. But I digress. I liked Q, I liked Q a lot. I think he’s a good character. I always felt myself so attached to him and just wanting to know he was okay and wanting to follow him and his story everywhere. Good on you, John Green.

Radar and Lacey were good too, I liked them a lot. I liked Ben at first but I don’t really know how I feel about him right now. So I’m going to stop talking about him right now.

Paper Towns definitely pulled at my feelings, the feelings of sadness, exhilaration, hope, fear–so many things. READ IT. It’s good. It’s just got me feeling this sort of way. HOW DARE YOU JOHN GREEN. But seriously, read it.

Hannah
July 24 2015

Leave a Reply

