Book Opinion | Me, Earl, and the Dying Girl

Me, and Earl, and the Dying Girl

Hi again!

Look at me uploading at a reasonable interval from the last time! I actually read Me, and Earl, and the Dying Girl before I read Eleanor & Park, but I borrowed Eleanor & Park from my friend and had to give it back so I wrote my review on that one first haha.

I have such mixed opinions about Me, and Earl, and the Dying Girl. There were so many sections that I read and jokingly thought, “Haha that’s so me! He’s literally me–awkward and sarcastic and lame,” and even though he was so relatable, it was kind of disappointing at the same time? The book was definitely more realistic than most at times, but maybe that was where the book fell short for me? Sometimes I just wanted more–more hope, more happy, more…y’know? I think this book accurately represented the part of life where sometimes there isn’t more in life and that sad things just happen and I guess that didn’t do it for me. The book didn’t feel like it was going anywhere, it was just this boy who had problems that he had to sort out with himself and this girl who was dying from cancer. He didn’t do anything about it really, and he just felt stoic and unmoving. There was no epiphany, no ah-ha moment, and it just didn’t do much for me. Others may say otherwise and that’s completely fine but I wasn’t particularly entertained by this book. The beginning yes! But when you get more into a book, you want more.

I didn’t really get more. Sorry. 😦

I’m currently finishing The Land of Stories: The Wishing Spell after starting it two years ago! I’m really bad with reading if I don’t immediately get into a book, it’s so sad. I’m still in the middle of this, Struck by Lightning by Chris Colfer, Paper Towns by John Green (anyone excited for the movie?!), and Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein. It’s so bad of me!

Give me book recommendations though! I love getting book recommendations because they really give you insight into people’s preferences and enjoyments. Comment them below, I’d really love to hear from you guys! If you liked this post, please give it a like and tell me if you like seeing these types of blog posts! 🙂

Hannah

Leave a Reply

