Book Opinion | A Thousand Splendid Suns

Hello internet!

Although most of us are keen on strongly disliking the books that schools assign us to read (especially during the summer -shudders-), I quite liked the one I read for my last summer reading project. Don’t get me wrong, I was very determined to say that I did not like this book at all. That is a complete lie, but that does not mean that I didn’t like some parts. Towards the end, the book began to pick up which made for a much more enjoyable experience, but made it more difficult for me to do proper annotations since I just wanted to read!

Now, before I get even more into my opinions on this book, it would probably be wise to introduce it first, yeah? My high school assigns practically every grade level a book or so to read as a summer reading project, and for my senior year, our district assigned A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini.

A Thousand Splendid Suns

My Opinion:

Now, as I said before, this didn’t start out as a favorite of mine. I felt that the beginning was dragging on a bit, that I didn’t quite see a purpose or a true depth to the first main character, Mariam. Of course, that might just be because she was a child and I was just very annoyed that I had to read this book (I’m a really stubborn person, sorry!). However, as Mariam started to grow up in age, her character began to grow as well. With every conflict and tribulation passed her way, I found myself getting a little more interested. Then Laila (who I believe to be the true main protagonist in this story) was introduced and things picked up even more. Of course there were slow parts, but every book encounters moments like these where relaying information is a little more important than conflict after conflict haha. Rather than spilling out every detail and fingerling over my favorite parts, I will highlight what I found to be the best part of this novel (is it a novel? I don’t know man). Laila and Mariam, their relationship, their dynamic, their routine; the way these two interact with each other begins shaky in its slightest form, but over the course of the book, their relationship blossoms into something that I hope I will come to experience. These two become amazing friends, way more than friends (platonically speaking), and it’s refreshing to see the hope that they represent in a time of turmoil and war. Hope plays a big part in this story and I applaud the way Hosseini handled such a thing. Sorry for my usual rambling and quick, lame transitions (if I could even call them that. My AP Lang and Comp teacher would be very disappointed, oh well) but I begin school tomorrow! I literally finished this book today, I wish I could apologize for my lame procrastination because I had originally planned to do quite the opposite, but I don’t know, life happened.

However I do apologize for my lack of blogging! This past week I celebrated a “birthday week” with my best friend! It was our first year of doing it, despite being friends for about two years. Just so you know that we aren’t being self-centered or anything and wanted to make our birthdays last way longer than it had to, we recently decided to do this birthday week thing because our birthdays are exactly a week apart! (She’s a year older than me but oh well). So we’ve spent the week of 27 August to 3 September just doing random things together and it’s been fun (unfortunately plans for 1 September to 3 September are kind of rocky and not according to plan because school!). So hopefully I will get a post up about that and tell you all about my best friend!

Until next time internet!

Hannah

Leave a Reply

