DIY Sugar Scrub

Hello everyone!

I’m always up to trying new DIY projects so I thought that I would share one with you guys! Now, I love going into Sephora and smelling all the sugar scrubs (they smell soooo nice I’m sorry!) but if you’ve been inside the store and looked at these products, they are too expensive! Even compared to sugar scrubs from Target, it’s still too much money! At Sephora, they would be $20+ and Target would sell pots/jars that were the same size for about $10. However, I am a high school student with no job I don’t have money for these types of things. So I scavenged the internet and stumbled upon sugar scrub recipes that work just fine compared to the high end ones. I’ll share the recipe and pictures below.

Green Sugar Scrub

What you’ll need:

  • 1 1/2 cups of sugar (In this case I used regular ol’ white granulated sugar)
  • 1/2 cup of oil (I’ve read many different recipes that used different types of oil. Some suggest olive oil, some suggest coconut oil–I used one that was a sort of canola/coconut oil blend. I’d be willing to try other ones I was just going for my cheapest option at the time haha)
  • 1 tablespoon of peppermint extract (You can use whatever extract or essential oils you like! Just cater it to the scent you prefer! The smell was a little strong when I used a tablespoon so maybe you could opt for a little less?)
  • 1 drop of food coloring (Y’know, if you’d like it to be colored akin to the scent or just colored in general! I used one drop of green food coloring for the mint-y looking & smell!)
  • Large mixing bowl
  • Wooden spoon (or a rubber spatula, but it felt cooler to use a wooden spoon haha)
  • Jar

I only used a small amount to try out because I didn’t want to end up wasting things if it come out the way I wanted it to, so you can adjust these measurements and amounts as needed!

Instructions:

  1. Measure out your sugar into a large mixing bowl.
  2. Add your oil in slowly as you stir the sugar and oil together.
  3. Fold the contents of your bowl to be sure that every bit of the sugar gets covered in oil.
  4. After successfully mixing the sugar and oil, add the extract or essential oil and the food coloring, and then mix again, being sure to make everything evenly distributed.
  5. If your scrub is too wet, add more sugar! If it’s too dry, add more oil! It’s all about making it into the consistency you prefer.
  6. Once you’re done mixing, transfer the content into a jar (or a plastic container, but a jar looks prettier! :D) for proper storage.

Sugar Scrubs

And that’s really all there is to it! I hope you’ve enjoyed this little DIY project; it’s a really easy thing to do from the comfort of you own kitchen and is extremely inexpensive. Not only can these be kept for yourselves, they make really great gifts for friends and family! Just decorate it with some twine, lace and chalkboard labels and you’re done!

If you’d like to see more of these types of posts, please leave a comment below!

Until next time internet!

Hannah

Leave a Reply

